Short answer
You pay the amount the Japan plan page shows for the plan you choose, and that page says every price there is what you pay, with no activation fee. A Wakamo Japan plan lists no phone number and no voice calls, and a text-message value appears only when that plan shows one.
Calls, texts, and a Japanese number are covered in Do I get a Japanese phone number with a Japan eSIM?.
Fixed plans, day passes, and buying more data are covered in How do fixed-data Japan eSIM plans, day passes, and top-ups differ?.
Home-carrier roaming charges are covered in Should I use a Japan travel eSIM or my home carrier's international roaming?.
Refund rules, including after the eSIM is installed, are covered in Can I get a refund on a Japan eSIM I already installed?.
When to install, and how Fetch works, are covered in the Japan eSIM guide.
Fact table
As of 2026-10-24
Each claim names its source. The full source list, with the date each page was read, is below.
| Claim | Source |
|---|---|
| The Japan plan page says there is no activation fee, and that what it shows for the plan is what you pay. This page states no plan amount. The Japan plan page shows the data amount and the validity of the plan you are viewing. This page states neither number. | Wakamo Japan plan page |
| The Japan plan page says there is no activation fee, and that what it shows for the plan is what you pay. This page states no plan amount. | Wakamo Japan plan page |
| A Wakamo Japan plan lists no phone number and no voice calls. Where a plan has an SMS value, the plan page shows it. A plan with no value shows no SMS claim. | Wakamo Japan plan page |
| The plan page says whether that plan can be topped up. When it can, you can add data for the same region within the validity period. When it cannot, the page says so and you buy another plan if you need more. A plan that could take extra days says those day extensions are not available to purchase yet. | Wakamo Japan plan page |
| A day pass is sold by the day. You choose how many days, with a high-speed data allowance for each day. The charge is the per-day charge multiplied by the number of days. If the plan states a fair-use speed, the connection slows to that speed after the daily allowance instead of stopping; the plan page states that speed. You are not charged for overage. | Wakamo help |
| When a fixed plan runs out of data, the plan page says the connection stops and that you are not charged for overage. After a day pass's daily allowance, the plan page follows that plan's fair-use text. A text that states a speed says the connection slows to the speed stated for that plan. Any other text points you to the plan details. An empty text says the plan does not state what happens. Each version says you are not charged for overage. | Wakamo Japan plan page |
| At checkout, card payment is handled entirely by Stripe. Wakamo never sees or stores your card number, and payment card data never touches its servers. | Wakamo Privacy Policy |
| Yes. Wakamo's Terms describes points-only and mixed-payment purchases, and says redeemed points return to your points balance when a refund is completed. | Wakamo Terms of Service |
| Payment is processed by Stripe. What is shown before checkout may be displayed in your local currency, and it may change. A change never affects an already-completed purchase. | Wakamo Terms of Service |
| Browse Japan eSIM plans: live prices are on the plan page. | Wakamo Japan eSIM guide |
| Use your home carrier's roaming when that carrier's own page says the plan or pass covers the calls, texts, or data you want in Japan. Use a travel eSIM when you want a separate data plan. The Japan plan page shows that plan's data amount and validity. | Wakamo, Japan eSIM or home-carrier roaming |
FAQ
What do I pay for a Japan eSIM?
The Japan plan page says there is no activation fee, and that what it shows for the plan is what you pay. This page states no plan amount. The Japan plan page shows the data amount and the validity of the plan you are viewing. This page states neither number.
Is there an activation fee?
The Japan plan page says there is no activation fee, and that what it shows for the plan is what you pay. This page states no plan amount.
Does a Japan eSIM include calls, texts, or a Japanese number?
A Wakamo Japan plan lists no phone number and no voice calls. Where a plan has an SMS value, the plan page shows it. A plan with no value shows no SMS claim.
Can I buy more data later?
The plan page says whether that plan can be topped up. When it can, you can add data for the same region within the validity period. When it cannot, the page says so and you buy another plan if you need more. A plan that could take extra days says those day extensions are not available to purchase yet.
How is a day pass charged?
A day pass is sold by the day. You choose how many days, with a high-speed data allowance for each day. The charge is the per-day charge multiplied by the number of days. If the plan states a fair-use speed, the connection slows to that speed after the daily allowance instead of stopping; the plan page states that speed. You are not charged for overage.
Will I be charged extra when the data runs out?
When a fixed plan runs out of data, the plan page says the connection stops and that you are not charged for overage. After a day pass's daily allowance, the plan page follows that plan's fair-use text. A text that states a speed says the connection slows to the speed stated for that plan. Any other text points you to the plan details. An empty text says the plan does not state what happens. Each version says you are not charged for overage.
How do I pay?
At checkout, card payment is handled entirely by Stripe. Wakamo never sees or stores your card number, and payment card data never touches its servers.
Can points pay for a Japan eSIM?
Yes. Wakamo's Terms describes points-only and mixed-payment purchases, and says redeemed points return to your points balance when a refund is completed.
Can the amount change before I buy?
Payment is processed by Stripe. What is shown before checkout may be displayed in your local currency, and it may change. A change never affects an already-completed purchase.
Does this replace home-carrier roaming charges?
Use your home carrier's roaming when that carrier's own page says the plan or pass covers the calls, texts, or data you want in Japan. Use a travel eSIM when you want a separate data plan. The Japan plan page shows that plan's data amount and validity.
Sources
Wakamo Japan plan pagewakamo.io
Wakamo product information. The page says every price there is what you pay, and that there is no activation fee. It shows the data amount and the validity of the plan being viewed. No Japan plan lists a phone number or voice calls. Where a plan has an SMS value, the page shows it. When a fixed plan runs out of data, the connection stops and you are not charged for overage. A day pass follows that plan's fair-use text, and you are not charged for overage. The page says whether that plan can be topped up. This page states no amount.
Accessed 2026-10-24.
Wakamo helpwakamo.io
Wakamo product information. A day pass is sold by the day: you choose how many days. The price is the per-day price multiplied by the number of days. If the plan states a fair-use speed, the connection slows to that speed after the daily allowance instead of stopping; the plan page states that speed. You are not charged for overage.
Accessed 2026-10-24.
Wakamo Terms of Servicewakamo.io
Wakamo product information. Section 7 says prices are shown before checkout and may be displayed in your local currency, payment is processed by Stripe, and a later change never affects an already-completed purchase. Section 5 says redeemed points return to your points balance, including for points-only and mixed-payment purchases.
Accessed 2026-10-24.
Wakamo Privacy Policywakamo.io
Wakamo product information. Payment information is handled entirely by Stripe. Wakamo never sees or stores your card number. It receives only the payment status, amount, and a reference identifier. Payment card data never touches Wakamo's servers.
Accessed 2026-10-24.
Wakamo Japan eSIM guidewakamo.io
Wakamo product information. The guide says to browse Japan eSIM plans, and that live prices are on the plan page. Install steps, Fetch, plan timing, networks, hotspot, and top-up how-to stay on the guide.
Accessed 2026-10-24.
Wakamo, Japan eSIM or home-carrier roamingwakamo.io
Use home-carrier roaming when that carrier's own page says the plan or pass covers the calls, texts, or data you want in Japan. Use a travel eSIM when you want a separate data plan. The Japan plan page shows that plan's data amount and validity. This page does not copy carrier charge amounts.
Accessed 2026-10-24.